Bubble Man busking on Southbank: the end of summer 2015

Bubble Man busker: Southbank London

Its a clever way of entertaining the tourists, especially in the summer.  Make a series of loops with wire and string them between two poles. Dunk into a large tub soap suds and waft in the air.  Hey presto, pretty bubbles sparkle in the sunlight.  And the kids go mad.  I spotted this guy and his mate doing their act on Thursday this week. I grabbed a few shots which capture the atmosphere.

On this rainy Bank Holiday Monday in London, it feels as summer is over, so I thought I’d share these pictures today. Though I’m still hoping for an Indian summer in September.

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

Seconds later and this bubble burst in my face.

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

My signature selfie shot 😉

 

Soap bubble display Southbank London 2015

 

This was a spontaneous photo shoot from which I learned a lot.

  • Don’t rush because its fast moving.  I wish I’d slowed my mind down a bit more but I was on my way to a meeting and snatched a lot of shots.  I did end up with some usable ones though.
  • The busy background can detract from a shot.  Its hard to judge this in a fast moving situation but the skyline which looked fine at the time detracts from the bubbles and the activity.  I’ve edited around where I could.
  • Get your exposure right. I think most of these were initially over exposed.
  • What would the results have been like with one of those long lenses?

 

I hope you all had a good summer folks and thanks for reading my blog.

 

6 thoughts on “Bubble Man busking on Southbank: the end of summer 2015

  1. Nice colourful shots! I took some similar ones of a “bubble man”on south bank a few months ago, feel free to have a look

    • Thanks! And thanks for stopping by to comment. I did have a look and you have an exciting looking blog. btw – I think your bubble guy was much younger. They share the same spot though.

      • Yeah definitely different guys. It’s quite an awesome backdrop for the bubbles to float off into. I want their job! Lol

  2. It is an awesome backdrop but I think it works better in black and white than colour. Your bubbles really do stand out well, especially in that solo shot. Nice capture.

Leave a Reply

