Regent Street Bus Cavalcade 2014 – a PS

image
Info
Comments
  • view engine house and front wheel close up
  • AEC K type bus K424

    On Sunday 22nd June,  I went to the Regent Street Bus Cavalcade.  And in my last post I wrote in detail about that visit.  This extra post is so I can share the detailed photographs I took of one bus in particular, the AEC K type open top bus. I chose this vintage bus purely for sentimental reasons. As I child I had grown up on the 37 bus route.  In those much later days I travelled on an AEC RM routemaster and it went as far as Richmond.  Looking at the first photograph below, I think the original route travelled a a little further to St Margarets. Today the 37 route is much shorter than both these eras, ending in Putney Heath.

     

    front end view AEC K type London bus

    view engine house and front wheel close up

     

    interior carriage AEC K type bus

    view out through window behind driver AEC K type bus

    Notice inside carriage AEC K type bus

     

     

    interior carriage AEC K type bus

    top of stairs AEC K type bus

     

    View of upstairs seating AEC K type bus

     

    notice on upstairs deck AEC K type bus

    View from top deck of AEC K type bus

    Rear staircase AEC K type bus

     

    Yes!  Well spotted. This is another bus, the slightly later model S type.  But they look similar to my untrained eye and this shot told the story of alighting from the upper deck of the bus.

    people attending bus pageant

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • Leave a Reply

    