Travelling to wonderland; Chinese art installation at V&A

image
Info
Comments
  • Travelling to Wonderland, Madjeski Garden at the V&A (2nd Nov 2013 – 2nd March 2014)

    Regular readers of my blog will know I love the inner sanctum of the Madjeski Garden at the V&A museum, London.  One sunny November day last year, I stumbled upon this delightful installation on a Chinese theme.  I only had my phone on me but the sun was so inviting, the way the light played with those stones was too delicious to resist. And before I knew it my phone was out of my handbag and I was snapping away.

    Travelling to Wonderland, installation at V&A

    Now that I have a new camera, I decided to return and take more high quality pictures.  During a pause in the eternal rain of this winter, I made a visit last week.

    Two months later…

    Last week the garden had a more wintery feel.  Gone were the autumn maples leaves which were so pretty last year.

    Travelling to Wonderland, installation at V&A

    The atmosphere was bleaker but enchanting in a grittier way.  I love the way the wind whipped up the water into a miniature storm for this shot.

    Travelling to Wonderland, installation at V&A

    Delight in the detail

    For those of us who love miniature objects this installation is full of wonderful details – monkeys hiding in the rocks. fish in the water, tiny houses, giraffes, zebras and birds on the rocky crags.  You’ll see more examples in the gallery below.

    Travelling to Wonderland, installation at V&A

    Just as the sun was going down, the lights came on some of the small houses and moving graphics appeared in each one.  Naturally my photographs only show stills but they give you the idea.  I selected this photograph because the East’s long history of erotica in art.  This couple were highly athletic!

    Travelling to Wonderland, installation at V&A

     

    Information about the exhibition

    For those of you either living in or visiting London, you can enjoy the exhibition until 2nd March at the V&A Museum, South Kensington, London.  And its free to visit.  The first photograph in the gallery gives some information about the exhibition.

    This short BBC video, Building Utopia; unlocking the secrets of Chinese landscape art gives us a glimpse of how the display came together and the philosophy behind it.  What I noticed from details at the very end is that many little objects have disappeared over time!

    I hope you enjoy the gallery.  And for a better view, click on any picture to switch to gallery mode.

  • Leave a Reply

    