St Petersburg and the influence of JMW Turner

image
Info
4 Comments
  • Its been grey and overcast for weeks now in London and not great light for shooting new material.  And with snow forecast in the UK I thought I’d look out some archive shots from a visit to St Petersburg I made in November 2006.

    They were shot on film and I scanned them into my laptop and made a wonderful discovery.  Even with a basic programme like iphoto, I’ve brought out much more detail in the sky. And shots which had been disappointing when printed have now leapt into life.  This first shot is as printed by the processing company.

    River Neva, St Petersburg

    River Neva, St Petersburg

    I like the composition and the vastness of the river.  But its still very washed out.  And not as exciting as when I was actually there.  But look at this version.

    River Neva, St Petersburg

    River Neva, St Petersburg

    All I’ve done is increased the highlights and definition levels and look how amazing the sky is now.  I can see why I shot this view.

    This shot also reminds me of the paintings by  JMWTurner.  And so rather than giving you a tourist’s view of the city, I’ve selected the pictures with a painter’s eye.  I hope you enjoy them.  And do view in gallery mode to see  them at their best by clicking on any photo to switch.

  • 4 thoughts on “St Petersburg and the influence of JMW Turner

    Leave a Reply

    