L’elephant visite a Londres: Royal de Luxe London performance of Sultan’s Elephant

image
Info
1 Comment
  • The title of this post is in French because its a french elephant. Really, it is! (apologies for the missing accents but I don’t know how to implement them.)

    I remembered this series of pictures from 2006 because it fits one theme of this blog – street art and street theatre.

    A gigantic, elephant puppet/robot visited London that grey Spring weekend. The french company, Royal de Luxe, who created the event called it the time-travelling elephant of India because he appeared to commemorate the centenary of Jules Vernes’ death. We, of course, called him Sultan’s Elephant.

    And I nearly missed it!  If two of my friends hadn’t independently told me to go and see it, I would have.  And even when I set off on the final morning of this three day event, I was tired and grumpy.  But what joy awaited me. Yes the puppetry was amazing but we all shared in that wonder and together made that experience magical. I’ll let the pictures tell the story.

    (to view gallery click on any picture to change to carousel mode)

    camera descriptions in the gallery are wrong. I used my Pentax MZ60 and fuji film.

    Update – I found this great clip of the giant elephant puppet in action on Youtube.

  • One thought on “L’elephant visite a Londres: Royal de Luxe London performance of Sultan’s Elephant

    Leave a Reply

    